The Ultimate Guide To Table Tennis: Is There A Second Serve?

What is Table Tennis and its Serve Rules?

Table tennis, also known as ping pong, is a popular sport played on a hard table divided by a net. Players use rackets to hit against the ball across the court in an attempt to score points. The game has been around for decades and continues to be enjoyed by players of all ages and skill levels. But when it comes to serving rules, does table tennis have something like a “second serve” option?

Can You Have A Second Serve In Table Tennis?

The answer is yes – you can have a second serve in table tennis. This rule applies if your first serve was unsuccessful or invalidated due to hitting outside of bounds or touching the net before reaching your opponent’s side of the court. If this happens, you may take another shot at serving – but only one more! If you miss with your second attempt as well, then that point goes to your opponent automatically.


Table tennis is an exciting game that requires quick reflexes and strategic thinking from both players involved. Knowing how many serves are allowed per point can help give each player an advantage during playtime – especially if they know when they can make use of their bonus “second serve” opportunity!