Can You Self Pass In Handball? Here’s What You Need To Know

ball, handball, work out

Can You Self Pass in Handball?

Handball is a fast-paced, thrilling sport that requires quick reflexes and skillful tactics to succeed. It involves passing the ball between players on the court and trying to score goals by shooting it into the opposing team’s goal. But can you self pass in handball?

Self passing—or dribbling the ball with your feet instead of throwing or pushing it—is not allowed in handball, according to the International Handball Federation (IHF). This rule is designed to prevent teams from forming walls around their opponents, which would defeat the purpose of playing a dynamic game. Instead, players must pass or throw the ball when they are moving with it across court.

Why Self Passing is Not Allowed

The IHF set this rule for several reasons: firstly, it makes sure that everyone on both teams get an equal opportunity to participate in play; secondly, self passing can be used as an unfair tactic if one player continuously dribbles around their opponents; thirdly, without this rule games may become slow and uninteresting due to lack of movement and action; fourthly, allowing self passing could make defending against shots more difficult since defenders would have less time react if attackers had already moved past them before shooting.

Conclusion

In conclusion, self passing is not allowed in handball according to international regulations set by IHF because it takes away from equal opportunities for all players involved as well as introduces potential unfair tactics during play. While some people may find rules like these annoying at times, they ultimately serve an important purpose that helps keep handball exciting and competitive for everyone involved!