Can You Double Hit In Pickleball? Here’s What The Rules Say

What is Pickleball?

Pickleball is a popular racquet sport that combines elements from badminton, tennis and table tennis. It’s played on a court with different rules than traditional sports, using paddles made of wood or composite materials to hit a perforated polymer ball over the net. Players can score points by hitting the ball into their opponent’s court before they return it. But what happens when you hit the ball twice in pickleball?

Can You Double Hit in Pickleball?

The short answer is no, you cannot double hit in pickleball. The rule states that if you make contact with the ball more than once during your swing or volley then it will be considered an illegal double hit and your opponent will receive the point. However, there are some exceptions to this rule; for example, if one player hits the paddle twice but not both at the same time (e.g., backhand followed by forehand), then it won’t be considered as an illegal double-hit and play can continue as normal without any penalty being awarded to either side.

Consequences of Double Hitting

If a player does commit an illegal double-hit then they will lose all three rights: 1) They must handover possession of service to their opposition 2) They forfeit any points earned from that shot 3) Any rally which has already occurred must start again from zero (deuce). If multiple players have committed a double-hit during their turn at bat then each person involved should surrender service accordingly based off who committed first or second offence respectively – so long as neither player committed both offences simultaneously or consecutively during one single stroke action!

Conclusion