How Many Sets in Australian Open: All You Need to Know

The Australian Open, one of the four prestigious Grand Slam tennis tournaments, is known for its thrilling matches and fierce competition. As a tennis enthusiast or a curious onlooker, you might be wondering how many sets are played during this exciting event. In this blog post, we will dive into the details and provide you with all the information you need about the number of sets in the Australian Open.

The Basics: Best-of-5 Sets Format

The Australian Open follows a best-of-5 sets format for both men’s singles and doubles matches. This means that players must win three out of five sets to secure victory. Each set is won by reaching six games first, with an advantage of at least two games over their opponent.

Tiebreaks: An Exceptional Rule

In most professional tennis tournaments, including other Grand Slam events like Wimbledon or the US Open, tiebreakers are used when a set reaches 6-6 so as not to extend play indefinitely. However, there is an exceptional rule at the Australian Open for men’s singles matches only.

While other Grand Slam tournaments implement a traditional tiebreaker when tied at 6-6 in any set (usually first to seven points), the Australian Open uses an “Advantage” system instead until one player achieves a two-game lead. This unique approach often leads to extended and intense battles between competitors.

For example:
If Player A leads 7 games to 5 against Player B in a set without achieving a two-game lead yet (e.g., no score like 8-6 reached), they continue playing until one player secures that two-game advantage – such as winning another game making it 8-5 or losing leading it back to 7-all.
This rule adds an extra level of excitement and unpredictability to the matches, ensuring that players have to fight harder for each set.

Women’s Matches: Best-of-3 Sets

In contrast to the men’s singles and doubles format, women’s singles matches in the Australian Open consist of a best-of-3 sets format. This means that players only need to win two out of three sets to claim victory. Each set follows the same rules as described earlier: reaching six games with a two-game lead.

While this difference exists between men’s and women’s singles matches, all doubles competitions across both genders follow the same best-of-5 sets format as mentioned previously.


The Australian Open showcases outstanding tennis talent from around the world while adhering to specific rules regarding set formats. With men’s singles and doubles utilizing a best-of-5 sets structure alongside unique tiebreak rules, viewers are guaranteed thrilling battles throughout.
On the other hand, women’s singles contests adopt a best-of-3 sets system that provides its own intense moments on court. Understanding these distinctions will enhance your enjoyment as you watch or follow one of tennis’ most prestigious tournaments – The Australian Open!